Gaelic Station Names before 2008

Welcome to, Scotland's online railway community. The group is for any rail enthusiast interested in the railways and trains of Scotland. It not only consists of the wiki that you're reading now, but a busy online forum and mailing list, which was accessible to registered users. From April 2024 the forum has closed, with a replacement started on
Gaelic names first appeared on Scottish station signs in 1996. Selected stations on the lines north of Inverness (plus Aviemore) received name boards with green lettering, 1 or 2 per platform, either placed below an 'English' name board, or separately on a lamp post.

The West Highland Line stations also gained Gaelic name boards around 1996, these too had green lettering but also a blue stripe with "Rathad Iarainn Nan Eilean" (Iron road to the Isles) in white text, plus an appropriate coat of arms. Again there were only 1 or 2 of these signs per platform. Dumbarton Central, Dalmuir, and (oddly) Partick were included in this West Highland route branding, whilst signs at Glasgow Queen Street featured the strap-line "Rathad Iarainn Na Gaidhealtach" (Iron road to the Highlands) and a historically inappropriate Highland Railway coat of arms.

Stations between Inverness and Gleneagles (plus Nairn) received new signage early in 2002, including the Gaelic name in green below the English name, with a ScotRail logo on a purple stripe at the bottom.

The Royal National Mod was held in the Largs in 2002, and the station was given 2 new signs featuring gaelic, positioned near the bufferstops.

Stations on the Far North Line and on the West Highland Lines received new signage in 2006, with the Gaelic name in smaller green lettering and a First ScotRail logo on blue stripe at the bottom.

Partick station was extensively rebuilt and had new ScotRail 'Saltire' signage for its completion in March 2009. Glasgow Queen Street was rebranded in the new style in July 2009 with "Sràid na Banrighinn" also now used on the low level platforms.

Gaelic names started to appear from March 2010 onwards at stations in the Lowlands as signage was renewed in the new 'Saltire' style. See Gaelic Station Names

Rebranding in the ScotRail 'Saltire style' was completed during 2015.

Gaelic Names 1996 to 2006
Station Gàidhlig Remarks Saltire Rebranding Photos
Glasgow Queen Street Sràid na Banrighinn High Level only 2009 <Photo>
Partick Partaig 2009, new spelling 2013. <Photo>
Dalmuir Dail Mhoire 2012, with new spelling
Dumbarton Central Dùn Breatainn 2010, with new spelling and full name
Helensburgh Upper Baile Eilidh 2012, with full station name.
Garelochhead Ceann a’ Gheàrrloch 2013
Arrochar & Tarbet An Tairbeart 2012, with full station name.
Ardlui Ard Laoigh 2012, with new spelling.
Crianlarich A’ Chrìon Làraich 2014, with new spelling <Photo> <Photo>
Tyndrum Lower Taigh an Droma Iarach 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Dalmally Dail Mhàilidh 2014
Loch Awe Loch Obha 2014
Falls of Cruachan Easa Cruachain 2014, with new spelling
Taynuilt Taigh an Uillt 2014
Connel Ferry Aiseag a’ Chonghail 2014, with new spelling
Oban An t-Oban 2014, with new spelling
Upper Tyndrum Taigh an Droma Uarach 2014, with new spelling <Photo> Photo
Bridge of Orchy Drochaid Urchaidh 2014 <Photo>
Rannoch Raineach 2014 <Photo> <Photo>
Corrour Coire Odhar 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Tulloch An Tulach 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Roy Bridge Drochaid Ruaidh 2014
Spean Bridge Drochaid an Aonachain 2014
Fort William An Gearasdan 2014
Banavie Banbhaidh 2014
Corpach A’Chorpaich 2014
Loch Eil Outward Bound Loch Iall 2014, with full station name.
Locheilside Taobh Loch Iall 2014
Glenfinnan Gleann Fhionnainn 2014 <Photo>
Lochailort Loch Ailleart 2014
Beasdale Biasdail 2014
Arisaig Arasaig 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Morar Mòrar 2014 <Photo>
Mallaig Malaig 2014
Kyle of Lochalsh Caol Loch Aillse 2013 <Photo>
Duirinish Diurnis 2015, with new spelling <Photo>
Plockton Ploc Loch Aillse 2012, with new spelling <Photo>
Strathcarron Srath Carrann 2012 <Photo>
Achnasheen Achadh na sine 2012, with new spelling <Photo>
Garve Gairbh 2012 <Photo>
Thurso Inbhir Theorsa 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Helmsdale Bun Illidh 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Golspie Goillspidh 2014 <Photo>
Rogart Sgìre Raoird 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Lairg Luirg 2015 <Photo>
Culrain Cul Raoin For Carbisdale Castle Youth Hostel. 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Tain Baile Dhubhthaich 2014 <Photo>
Invergordon Inbhirghordain 2014, with new spelling <Photo>
Dingwall Inbhirpheofharain 2015, with new spelling <Photo>
Beauly A’Mhanachainn Station opened in 2002 <Photo>
Nairn Inbhir Narann 2013 <Photo>
Inverness Inbhir Nis 2012 <Photo>
Carrbridge Drochaid Chàrr 2013 <Photo>
Aviemore An Aghaidh Mhor Wooden Signs from 1998 2013 <Photo>
Kingussie Ceann a’ Ghiùthsaich 2013 <Photo>
Newtonmore Bail Ùr an t-Slèibh 2013, with new spelling. <Photo>
Dalwhinnie Dail Chuinnidh 2013 <Photo>
Blair Atholl Blàr Athall 2013 <Photo>
Pitlochry Baile Chloichridh 2013 <Photo>
Dunkeld and Birnam Dùn Chailleann is Braonan 2013, with new spelling. <Photo>
Gleneagles Gleann Eagas 2014 <Photo>
Largs An Leargaidh Ghallda 2011, with new spelling. <Photo>

See Also Links

External Links