Working Timetable

Welcome to, Scotland's online railway community. The group is for any rail enthusiast interested in the railways and trains of Scotland. It not only consists of the wiki that you're reading now, but a busy online forum and mailing list, which was accessible to registered users. From April 2024 the forum has closed, with a replacement started on
Working timetables (WTTs) are the train schedules used by operational rail staff. They differ from Public timetables in a number of ways.

Passing times are given at junctions and signal boxes, and the times are given in half minutes. Information about running lines and platforms may also be shown.

The trains in the WTT are identfied by 4-character reporting codes (Headcodes), and a timing load and maximum speed are also given, indicating what type of train should be used to keep to the point to point running times.

The WTT schedules show Pathing Time on approaching junctions, where a train would otherwise be delayed by a conflicting movement. Recovery Time is also shown, which allows for Temporary Speed Restrictions (TSRs) due to track maintenance work.

For passenger trains, WTT departure times may be later than 'advertised', and WTT arrival times may be earlier. This allows the public timetable to show consistent 'clock face' departure times.

Network Rail produce three Working timetable books for Scotland. The routes they cover are as follows:

Section GA: 'West Area' Passenger, Parcels and Empty Coaching Stock (ECS) trains.

  • Uddingston Jn, Mossend & Motherwell to Benhar Jn, Lanark, Carstairs & Carlisle
  • Glasgow Central (High Level) to Whifflet North Jn, Newton, Larkhall & Uddingston Jn
  • Lugton & Kilmarnock to Dumfries & Carlisle
  • Muirhouse South Jn to East Kilbride, Barrhead & Lugton
  • Glasgow Central (High Level) to Paisley, Ardrossan, Largs & Ayr.
  • Kilmarnock to Barassie Jn
  • Stranraer to Girvan & Ayr
  • Gourock & Wemyss Bay to Paisley Gilmour Street
  • Newton, Neilston & Cathcart Circle to Glasgow Central (High Level)
  • Helensburgh to Drumgelloch, Rutherglen & Branches
  • Mallaig, Fort William, Oban & Crianlarich to Helensburgh Upper
  • Mossend to Whifflet, Coatbridge Central & Garnqueen North Jn
  • Westerton & Anniesland to Springburn & Glasgow Queen Street (High Level) (via Maryhill)

Section GC: 'East Area' Passenger, Parcels and Empty Coaching Stock (ECS) trains.

  • Berwick-upon-Tweed, North Berwick & Newcraighall via Edinburgh to Haymarket West Jn, Benhar Jn & Carstairs
  • Edinburgh Suburban Lines
  • Haymarket West Jn to Bathgate, Falkirk, Cumbernauld, Springburn & Glasgow Queen Street
  • Larbert Jn via Stirling & Perth to Dundee & Inverness
  • Haymarket West Jn to Dundee & Aberdeen
  • Aberdeen via Dyce & Elgin to Millburn Jn (Inverness).
  • Inverness to Dingwall, Kyle of Lochalsh, Thurso & Wick

Section GF: Freight train services

  • Carlisle to Mossend and Coatbridge
  • Carlisle to Ayr (Falkland Yard) via Dumfries
  • Mossend to Hunterston & Falkland Yard
  • Berwick to Millerhill, Holytown Jn and Polmont Jn
  • Haymarket West Jn to Tay Bridge South and branches
  • Mossend to Grangemouth, Inverness and Aberdeen
  • Mossend to Fort William and Corpach Mill
  • Inverness to Aberdeen and Georgemas Jn

In 2004, production of the timetable moved from Buchanan House in Glasgow to Train Planning Centre North in Leeds, and in 2011 all Network Rail's train planning functions were centralised in Milton Keynes.

Nowadays, Signal boxes and Control Centres have access to real-time electronic timetable data, which includes short term alterations. Therefore printed WTTs are generally not used in day-to-day operations.