Royal Scotsman 2019

Welcome to scot-rail.co.uk, Scotland's online railway community. The group is for any rail enthusiast interested in the railways and trains of Scotland. It not only consists of the wiki that you're reading now, but a busy online forum and mailing list, which is accessible to anyone who registers. If you would like to join in, all you have to do is register with us for free.
A list of journey operated by The Royal Scotsman train during 2019.

The trains are usually hauled by GBRf Class 66 locos 66743 or 66746 in Royal Scotsman livery.

There are three regular tour itineraries, plus a few special tours during the season.

Note that from 4 May - 19 August 2019 the route between Aberdeen and Inverurie is blocked for engineering work.

Classic 5 Day/4 Night Tour
Day 1: 1H79 1345 Edinburgh - Keith via Aberdeen (or 1H89 1345 Edinburgh - Aviemore.)
Day 2: 1H80 0833 Keith - Kyle. (or 1H80 0835 Aviemore - Kyle)
Day 3: 1H81 0839 Kyle – Boat of Garten (or 1H78 0659 Kyle - Boat of Garten)
Day 4: 1H82 1110 Boat of Garten - Dundee (reverse at Perth)
Day 5: 1H84 0807 Dundee – Edinburgh


Western 4 Day/3 Night Tour
Day 1: 1H85 1345 Edinburgh - Spean Bridge (reverses at Dalmeny Loop and Springburn)
Day 2: 1H86 0823 Spean Bridge - Fort William - Mallaig - Fort William, 1640 Fort William - Bridge of Orchy
Day 3: 1H87 0746 Bridge of Orchy – Wemyss Bay, 1827 Wemyss Bay - Kilmarnock
Day 4: 1H88 0545 Kilmarnock - Edinburgh

The Western Trip operates in top and tail mode due to the length of the train on the Mallaig extension. On arrival back at Fort William, one loco stables and runs light (as 0H87) to Wemyss Bay on Day 3 to re-attach to the train. This means the veranda coach is at the rear for the journey over Rannoch Moor.

Highland 3 Day/2 Night Tour
Day 1: 1H89 1345 Edinburgh - Boat of Garten
Day 2: 1H90 1208 Aviemore - Inverness - Dundee Dalwhinnie (then 1H92 to Dundee)
Day 3: 1H91 0807 Dundee – Edinburgh

On days the train arrives back in Edinburgh, but does not have an afternoon departure (shown N/A), the empty stock may run as 5H76 1305 Craigentinny to Hamilton EG Steele sidings for maintenance work. The return working usually runs as 5H77 from Hamilton to Edinburgh.


% indicates changes for engineering work.

Departure Date, Tour

10-Mar Sun, Empty Stock move 5Z66 Eastleigh - Hamilton
11-Apr Thu, Classic
15-Apr Mon, Classic
19-Apr Fri, Western
22-Apr Mon, Classic
26-Apr Fri, Western
29-Apr Mon, Classic
03-May Fri, Private Highland Charter
05-May Sun, Private Charter to Fort William
06-May Mon, Classic
10-May Fri, Western
13-May Mon, Classic
17-May Fri, Private Highland type Charter
19-May Sun, Private Western type Charter
22-May Wed, Highland
24-May Fri, Classic
28-May Tue, Classic
01-Jun Sat, N/A
03-Jun Mon, Heritage Homes & Gardens
07-Jun Fri, Western
10-Jun Mon, Classic
14-Jun Fri, Classic (Whisky) 66743 Failed on 1H78 at Achnasheen, rescued by 37059.
18-Jun Tue, N/A
19-Jun Wed, Highland
21-Jun Fri, N/A
24-Jun Mon, Classic
28-Jun Fri, Classic
02-Jul Tue, N/A
05-Jul Fri, Grand Tour of Great Britain
12-Jul Fri, N/A
13-Jul Sat, Highland
15-Jul Mon, Classic
19-Jul Fri, Western
22-Jul Mon, Highland
24-Jul Wed, Classic (Whisky)
28-Jul Sun, Classic
01-Aug Thu, N/A
05-Aug Mon, Classic (Whisky)
09-Aug Fri, Classic
13-Aug Tue, N/A
14-Aug Wed, Highland
16-Aug Fri, Private 4 night tour to Muir of Ord/Kyle
19-Aug Mon, Classic
23-Aug Fri, Western
26-Aug Mon, Classic (Inverurie line re-opened)
30-Aug Fri, Western
02-Sep Mon, Classic
06-Sep Fri, N/A
11-Sep Wed, Clans, Castles & Isles. Class 66s to Oban.
16-Sep Mon, Classic
20-Sep Fri, Western
23-Sep Mon, Classic
27-Sep Fri, Western
30-Sep Mon, Classic
04-Oct Fri, Western
07-Oct Mon, Classic (Whisky)
11-Oct Fri, Highland
13-Oct Sun, Classic (Whisky)
17-Oct Thu, N/A
18-Oct Fri, Western
21-Oct Mon, Classic
25-Oct Fri, N/A

See Also