Class 380 Route Clearance

Welcome to, Scotland's online railway community. The group is for any rail enthusiast interested in the railways and trains of Scotland. It not only consists of the wiki that you're reading now, but a busy online forum and mailing list, which is accessible to anyone who registers. If you would like to join in, all you have to do is register with us for free.
This page lists the routes within Scotland on which class 380 EMUs are currently permitted to run.

Class 380 - Lines cleared

Line of Route Description
SC001* Gretna Junction – Lockerbie Dead Hauled $
SC001* Lockerbie – Carstairs (via Beattock) ECS only
SC001* Carstairs – Glasgow Central High Level (Main Lines or Newton Station)
SC003* Carstairs South Junction – Carstairs East Junction Not Permitted
SC003* Carstairs East Junction – Haymarket East Junction
SC005 Carstairs Station Junction – Carstairs East Junction
SC009 Lanark – Lanark Junction
SC011 Law Junction – Uddingston Junction (via Holytown)
SC013 Wishaw Central Junction – Shieldmuir Junction
SC015 Mossend East Jn – Mossend North Jn (North Curve) ECS only
SC017 Mossend East Jn – Mossend South Jn (East Curve)
SC019 Mossend South Jn – Mossend West Jn (West Curve)
SC023 Motherwell – Newton, Hamilton Junction (via Hamilton)
SC024 Larkhall – Haughhead Junction Not Permitted
SC025 Rutherglen Central Junction – Finnieston Junctions ECS only $
SC027 Rutherglen West Jn – Rutherglen North Jn (West Curve) ECS only
SC029 Larkfield Jn – Shields Jn (including Up Through Terminus)
SC031* Kilmarnock – Muirhouse Central Junction Not Permitted
SC031* Muirhouse Central Junction – Glasgow Central
SC039 Kilmarnock – Barassie Dead Hauled only
SC049 Muirhouse Central Junction – Terminus Junction
SC051 Muirhouse Central Jn – Muirhouse North Jn (via Cathcart Circle)
SC053 Neilston – Cathcart West Junction
SC055 Newton, Hamilton Junction – Cathcart West Junction
SC057 Cathcart East Junction – Cathcart North Junction
SC059* Glasgow Central – Ayr
SC059* Cook Street – Shields Road (Smithy Lye) ECS only
SC059* Ayr - Townhead Depot ECS only
SC061 Shields Junction – Paisley Canal
SC065 Paisley – Gourock
SC067 Wemyss Bay Junction – Wemyss Bay
SC073 Kilwinning Junction – Largs
SC077 Ardrossan South Beach – Ardrossan Harbour
SC081 Byrehill Junction – Dubbs Junction ECS only
SC093* Motherwell – Mossend South Jn
SC093* Mossend South Jn - Whifflet North Junction Not Permitted
SC093* Whifflet North Junction – Gartsherrie South Jn
SC093* Gartsherrie South Jn – Cumbernauld (Limit of OLE)
SC097 Whifflet South Junction – Sunnyside Junction Not Permitted
SC099 Whifflet North Junction – Rutherglen East Jn (via Carmyle)
SC101 Coatbridge Junction – Langloan Junction Not Permitted
SC103 Garnqueen North Jn – Cowlairs West Jn (via Springburn)
SC105 Gartsherrie South Jn – Gartcosh Jn
SC106 Sighthill West Jn – Cowlairs South Jn (Chord Line)
SC107* Edinburgh Waverley – Newbridge Jn
SC107* Newbridge Jn - Glasgow Queen St (High Level)
SC111 Newbridge Junction – Bathgate
SC123* Bathgate – Airdrie
SC123* Airdrie – Shettleston ECS only $
SC123* Shettleston – Belgrove Junction Not Permitted
SC123* Belgrove Junction - High Street Junction ECS only %
SC123* High Street Jn – Finnieston Junctions ECS only
SC123* Finnieston Junctions – Hyndland East Jn ECS only $
SC123* Hyndland North Jn – Helensburgh Central Not Permitted
SC125* Hyndland East Jn – Hyndland West Jn ECS only $
SC125* Hyndland West Jn – Yoker EMU Depot ECS only $
SC125* Yoker EMU Depot – Dalmuir Not Permitted
SC129 Springburn – Bellgrove Junction ECS only %
SC131 High Street Jn - Shields Jn (City Union) Dead Hauled
SC133 Westerton Junction – Milngavie Not Permitted
SC135 Dalreoch Junction – Balloch Not Permitted
SC136 Hyndland North Jn – Hyndland West Jn Not Permitted
SC147* Berwick-Upon-Tweed – Dunbar Dead Hauled
SC147* Dunbar – Edinburgh Waverley
SC149 North Berwick – Drem Junction
SC155* Monktonhall Junction – Millerhill West Jn ECS only
SC155* Millerhill West Jn – Millerhill Yard Not Permitted
SC161 Millerhill Yard – Portobello Junction ECS only
SC161 Newcraighall East Jn - Millerhill EMU Depot ECS only
Part LoR route only

SC001 $ New class 380s were tested between Carlisle and Carstairs in 2010 and 2011.
SC025/SC123/SC125 $ Used in Passenger service between Rutherglen and Gartscadden during Glasgow Commonwealth games, 23rd July - 3rd August 2014. <Message archive>.
SC123/SC129 % officially shown as 'EH' , but running as ECS since Dec 2017.
SC123 $ 5mph Blairhill up platform

Route Clearance